2018 Rammy Award Finalists Are Here

Last night at The Hamilton, we got a taste of the creations that will be honored at the Rammy Awards Gala, taking place on June 10 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center.

“Burnt Eggplant” – Arroz

“Unaccustomed Earth” Cocktail with Veggie Straw – Petworth Citizen 

Mezcal Cocktail – Espita

Taretar – Bresca

Mint Julep (tequila style) – The Royal

So who made the final cut? Drumroll please….

The 2018 Rammy Finalists are:

New Restaurant of the Year

  • Arroz
  • Bresca
  • Chiko
  • Del Mar
  • Maydan

Formal Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year

  • Fiola Mare
  • Masseria
  • Rasika
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck
  • Trummer’s on Main

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • Centrolina
  • Clarity
  • Iron Gate
  • Maketto
  • Sushi Taro

Casual Restaurant of the Year

  • Daikaya
  • Duke’s Grocery
  • Royal
  • Tavern at Ivy City Smokehouse
  • Timber Pizza Company

Chef of the Year

  • Kyle Bailey, Salt Line
  • Amy Brandwein, Centrolina
  • David Deshaies, Central/Unconventional Diner
  • Katsuya Fukushima, Bantam King/Daikaya/Haikan
  • Rob Rubba, Hazel

Pastry Chef of the Year

  • Fabrice Bendano, Le Diplomate
  • Naomi Gallego, Neighborhood Restaurant Group
  • Tiffany MacIsaac, Buttercream Bakeshop
  • Pichet Ong, Maketto/Brothers and Sisters
  • Erin Reed, Blue Duck Tavern

Rising Culinary Star of the Year

  • Gerald Addison and Chris Morgan, Maydan
  • Carlos Delgado, China Chilcano
  • Daniela Moreira, Timber Pizza Company
  • Michael Rafidi, Arroz/Requin
  • Russell Smith, Source by Wolfgang Puck

Wine Program of the Year

  • Bourbon Steak
  • Compass Rose
  • Le Diplomate
  • Range
  • Trummer’s on Main

Cocktail Program of the Year

  • Bar Charley
  • Barmini
  • Espita Mezcaleria
  • Royal
  • Petworth Citizen and Reading Room

Beer Program of the Year

  • Brasserie Beck
  • Owen’s Ordinary
  • Republic
  • Roofers Union
  • The Sovereign

Service Program of the Year

  • Bourbon Steak
  • Le Diplomate
  • Minibar
  • Red Hen
  • Tosca

Restaurateur of the Year

  • Stephen and Mark Fedorchak, Liberty Tavern Restaurant Group (Liberty Tavern, Lyon Hall, Northside Social, Liberty Barbecue)
  • Katsuya Fukushima, Yama Jewayni and Daisuke Utagawa, Daikaya Group (Daikaya, Haikan, Bantam King)
  • Ari Gejdenson, Mindful Restaurants Group (Acqua al 2, Ari’s Diner, Denson Liquor Bar, Dock FC, Ghibellina, Harold Black, La Puerta Verde, Sotto)
  • Jamie Leeds, JL Restaurant Group (Hank’s Cocktail Bar, Hank’s Pasta Bar, Hank’s Oyster Bar)
  • Ype Von Hengst and Bob Giaimo, Silver Diner/Silver

Regional Food and Beverage Producer of the Year

  • Atlas Brew Works
  • Bluejacket brewery
  • Ivy City Smokehouse
  • Logan’s Sausage
  • Right Proper Brewing Company

Manager of the Year

  • Julio Amador, Cork Wine Bar & Market
  • Daniel Coughlan, Compass Rose
  • Matthew McQuilkin, Pizzeria Paradiso
  • Heidi Minora, Commissary
  • Adam Rigaa, Brasserie Beck

Employee of the Year

  • Gerarda Lazo, Pizzeria Paradiso
  • Sharon Rissal, Jaleo – Bethesda
  • Pete Rymshaw, Salt Line
  • Edgar Salvador, Centrolina
  • Andrea Tateosian, Urbana

Joan Hisaoka Allied Member of the Year

  • Coastal Sunbelt Produce
  • Congressional Seafood
  • Streetsense
  • Trimark Adams-Burch
  • USI Insurance Services

Favorite Fast Bites (Public Vote)

  • G by Mike Isabella
  • Moby Dick
  • Shouk
  • Stomping Ground
  • Taco Bamba

Favorite Gathering Place of the Year (PV)

  • Bar Charley
  • Cheesetique – Shirlington
  • Fare Well
  • Right Proper Brewing Company
  • The Daily Dish

Casual Brunch (PV)

  • Ambar – Capitol Hill
  • Ari’s Diner
  • Tavern at Ivy City Smokehouse
  • Maketto
  • Vinoteca

Upscale Brunch (PV)

  • Osteria Morini
  • Seasons
  • Sfoglina
  • The Restaurant at Patowmack Farm
  • The Source by Wolfgang Puck

So what do you guys think? Agree? Disagree? Think someone was unfairly left out? Who are you rooting for? Let us know!

Leave a Reply